End of Summer: Excitement & Sadness to Return to College

As summer dwindles away, college students realize the inevitable… it is about time to return to college for another year. As I moved my belongings into my dormitory today, I realize that on Sunday I will be leaving home for quite some time. This realization brings all the emotions – happiness, sadness, excitement, and anxiety.

I am happy because I know what college entails, it means being around all my outstanding friends (or “the squad”), the roommate conversations that last to hours into the night, being able to have access to a decent weight room, and the cafeteria food. Let me tell you, these four reasons is what makes me crave my college life again; nothing else at my university compares.

I am sad because I know what I am leaving behind. I will not be seeing my hometown family and/or friends for some time; my college life is simply too busy with homework, work, and being in leadership positions. Even though I live a mere forty minutes from my home, I do not get to come back often. When I am home for the summer and winter break, I just have so much nostalgia for my childhood. It is something that I really am going to miss.

The excitement comes from realizing that I am merely in college. Many students – me included – take the fact we are in college for granted. There are millions of people that have not been able to attend college for financial or educational reasons. With being one of the only people in my family to go to college, I realize how privileged I am to say “I am attending college.” Furthermore, I know the end goal of entering a career I am passionate about (yes, even with my English degree!). I do not want to work the graveyard shift at the local gas station or in a factory; rather, I have dreams and aspirations to enter public relations, or editing, and then on to an executive role.

Ahh, the anxiety I am not looking forward to experiencing again. Going to college is not a walk in the park with rainbows and daisies; we do not just party, hang out, and take naps. Instead, we do five-six hours of homework a night (well, a majority of us do) that seriously takes its toll. With having two projects, three papers, online quizzes, and 150 pages of reading a night, I get very stressed and anxious with completing it all. Furthermore, I always am thinking about how much homework I have to do, and this really affects my happiness. I literally cannot think of anything else when I have homework to do because my grades are so important to me.

Overall, my emotions to return to my university in four days are extremely mixed. I cannot decide how excited or sad I am to leave, but in the end, I know these will be the “best four years of my life,” so I am going to enjoy every second of it no matter what I am feeling.

 

-Kyle Majerus

One thought on “End of Summer: Excitement & Sadness to Return to College

Leave a Reply

