Minimal and Versatile: The V-neck Sweater

Hello, all,

It has been quite some time since my last post. Sorry about that, I have just been bombarded with schoolwork the past two semesters, working three jobs,  tutoring students, attempting to start a podcast, serving as Co-Editor-in-Chief of a literary magazine, and working on getting published in an online news magazine. Busy, busy, busy!  While that may be the case, it seems to be time to get back into my blogging. So, I decided to make a quick post about my minimal and versatile v-neck sweaters.

As stated in my previous blogs, I tend to draw towards outfits and pieces that can be used on several different occasions, can be dressed up or dressed down with the slightest of changes, are minimal, and are neutral in color. And when I came across these two v-neck sweaters, I just knew they were must-haves in my wardrobe.

I would like to note that both of these sweaters are the same brand, Nautica, and retail at $59.50. However, I went to the local TJ-Maxx (God bless them, right?), and bought both of them for $20. I know, what a steal. I instantly had my eyes on these sweaters because they were not only wonderful pieces for my wardrobe, but they also were affordable.

I have put together three different looks with these sweaters that cover every aspect of society:

The formal event: One way you can wear these sweaters is dressing them up for a wine tasting party downtown. Wearing a black sweater over a crisp, white dress shirt; dark gray chinos or trousers, and black oxfords is a safe and minimal look that everyone appreciates. (If you want to go for a more “hip” vibe, you may switch the black oxfords for a pair of brown dress boots like I tend to do.)

img_2117img_2175

 

Walking the streets: Or, maybe you want to blend business casual and street wear. An excellent way to do this is to wear a navy sweater over an untucked white dress shirt, light gray trousers, and white sneakers. This look is for those who want to feel a bit edgy and attract some attention. I have rocked this look a few times this year, and, surprisingly, I get positive feedback every time. So, take the risk, blend these polar opposites, anything can be worn as long as you wear it with confidence.

img_2167img_2181

 

Downtown clubs: These sweaters also work for a night downtown. Wear either the black or navy sweater over a same colored t-shirt, some dark gray or navy chinos, and white sneakers or brown dress boots. But be wary, your white sneakers may not be so white after an hour or so – trust me. When I went to the clubs for the first time, I wore the look below but with brown dress boots, and, I kid you not, I was the best-dressed guy in the club.

img_2146img_2176

 

The v-neck sweater may appear to be for formal events or business parties only, but as you can see, they can be easily dressed up or down. It all depends on what you wear with it and how presentable you attempt to be. It is all up to you with these outstanding pieces.

Black and navy v-neck sweaters: Nautica                                                   http://www.nautica.com/v-neck-sweater/SR6430.html?dwvar_SR6430_color=713#uuid=fa3ff91f95e155375a9c25a312

White dress shirt: H&M Strech Shirt Slim fit                 http://www.hm.com/us/product/48533?article=48533-B&cm_vc=SEARCH

Dary gray chinos: JCrew 484 stretch (currently not selling gray) https://www.jcrew.com/p/mens_category/pants/484/stretch-chino-pant-in-484-fit/e1589

Light gray trousers: H&M                                                        http://www.hm.com/us/product/55624?article=55624-A&cm_vc=SEARCH

White sneakers: Steve Madden Ringwald (discontinued so I put two similar pairs). http://www.stevemadden.com/product/BONDED/242366.uts?selectedColor=WHITE OR  https://www.net-a-porter.com/us/en/product/729009?cm_mmc=ProductSearchPLA-_-US-_-Sneakers-Shoes-CommonProjects-Google&gclid=COvG34ChvdICFUe5wAodSNMESQ

Dress boots: Aldo (Also discontinued so I put a link to their books and Thursday Boots). http://www.aldoshoes.com/us/en_US/Men/Boots/c/230  OR https://thursdayboots.com/collections/boots

 

I hope you all enjoyed this blog. I truly intend on getting back into the groove of posting once a week. I want this hobby to become something more someday. More to come!

P.S. Terribly sorry for the horrendous photos. I do not have the funds for a high-quality camera or a photographer; instead, I just rely on my iPhone and setting it up with a timer. Hopefully one day I can upgrade to either a real camera or a lens for my iPhone.

 

-Kyle Majerus

 

One thought on “Minimal and Versatile: The V-neck Sweater

Leave a Reply

