The Apple Watch: The Best Smartwatch to Own

Elegant. Minimal. Convenient.

The Apple Watch is a triple threat that covers the areas many watch wearers care about; it is elegant, has a beautiful and minimal design, and is extremely convenient. Watch wearers pride themselves on the watch that is strapped around their wrists. They wouldn’t be caught dead wearing a watch from Wal-Mart or Shopko; no, they want to be seen wearing Omega, Rolex, or even Daniel Wellington because these watches stand out to those who appreciate watches. Me? I was a Daniel Wellington and August Steiner kind-of-guy prior to my Apple Watch. They are minimal, versatile, and cheap.

And, like anyone who adores watches, I am proud of my watches because they are an extension of who I am and what I like. My black-banded, white-faced August Steiner watch was an embodiment of my minimalistic style. Just like a flashy, diamond-coated Rolex may exemplify the high roller who owns it. It’s simple: watches represent their owners, so the owners are going to pick a watch that depicts them exactly.

So, when I finally purchased my Space Gray 38mm Apple Watch over a month ago, I knew that it would be the perfect extension of myself. It is sleek and minimal in design, and it is lovely to look at. I love my accessories to add to my outfit, not take the spotlight. The simple look of the Apple Watch is just enough for others to spot it but not focus all their attention on it. Also, it has myriads of watch faces that can be changed with just a finger touch. My personal favorite is “Mickey Mouse” because he taps his foot to represent a second of time ticking by, and he talks to you if you click on him! However, to save battery life, I use the “Simple” watch face with some added complications (alarm, temperature, date, and workout) to keep it, well, simple. The various watch faces are an outstanding feature because I can pick my watch face based on my mood or the setting I am in. Super convenient and versatile.

Not only are the watch faces easily interchangeable, but the watch bands are as well. With the simple push of a tab, you may slide the current watch band off and put on another one. Also, just like the watch faces, you may choose the watch band to suit a certain occasion or your mood. The Apple Watch comes with a Sport Band that can be in a multitude of colors, but you may buy more as you please. Personally, I love the Milanese Band and bought one for my Apple Watch. However, the Apple Watch bands are pricey, so I suggest looking on eBay or Amazon to find a great deal. Pictured below is my Apple Watch with a black Milanese Band I purchased on eBay (for $12 instead of $150!). The magnet is powerful and keeps the Apple Watch resting perfectly on my wrist.

IMG_2192

Another – and my personal favorite – benefit to having an Apple Watch is the convenience of it. No longer am I stuffing my hand into my pocket and pulling out my iPhone just to text someone back, check an email, or look at my reminders; rather, I raise my arm to see who texted me, reply to a crucial email, or checkmark a reminder as being complete. It saves momentous amounts of time. Which is a problem in today’s society. We are all time-poor people who do not have the time to scroll through Facebook and Twitter, reply to a text, or check all our email accounts because we are too busy keeping up with our active lifestyles. So, when I bought the Apple Watch, I had no idea that it would save me time to focus on more pressing matters. (Check back to my blog in a few weeks because I am writing a post about how my Apple Watch stopped my iPhone addiction!)

So, you still may be asking yourself if it is worth spending $270+ for one smartwatch, and I want you to stop right there. Purchasing this watch is not spending… it is investing. You’re investing in a timepiece that exceeds all others, can save you the trouble of pulling out your iPhone every five minutes, looks pretty damn cool on your wrist and will last you years to come. Apple products are known for their outstanding quality and incredible lifetime, and the Apple Watch is no exception.

Leave a comment or send me a message with your thoughts on the Apple Watch. Do you think it is worth it? Would you make the investment yourself, or have you already? Let me know!

 

-Kyle Majerus

2 thoughts on “The Apple Watch: The Best Smartwatch to Own

Leave a Reply

