Every day we wake up, go through the mundane task of getting ready, and grab the same specific items we will bring with us throughout the day. These items are an extension of who we are, and we could not imagine completing our day without them. While laying in my bed one morning, as I was mentally preparing to tackle the mile-long list of errands I had to complete, I started to think of the particular items I wanted to bring along with me; and, in less than ten seconds, I was able to compile my everyday carry items list.

1. iPhone 6

This really shouldn’t be shocking to anyone, but the number one thing that crossed my mind was my iPhone. Sure, I am like every other millennial and I constantly look through my social media every hour, but I carry my iPhone for more important reasons. First and foremost, I carry my iPhone to maintain contact with my family and friends throughout the day in case a situation arises or to just stay in the loop. Secondly, I carry my iPhone for my reminders app and my calendar app. I have several obligations that I must address on a daily basis, and sometimes it is difficult to remember when and where I am supposed to be. So, I create reminders in both apps to notify me when something is coming up.

2. Apple Watch

One thing I cannot go through the day without is my Apple Watch. It is so convenient to be able to check the weather, view text messages, answer phone calls, reply to emails, and add an event to my calendar from my wrist. What is more, it saves me the hassle of having to pull my iPhone out of my pocket just to check the time or look at a notification. (I go into more detail about my Apple Watch in one of my previous blog posts, which you can totally go read after this one!)

3. Dual-sided money clip

I am not a real fan of using plastic, i.e., credit cards and debit cards. I feel like it is too easy to go crazy and spend more than I can afford. While I do have a credit card for emergencies and to build my credit, I always make sure to have enough cash on me for the day. Now, instead of using a bulky wallet that can be a nuisance, I use a double-sided money clip – one end for the bigger bills and the other for the smaller bills. It makes it easier to keep track of how much money I actually have, and it is more convenient for grabbing specific bills.

4. Keys

Another given, I always carry the keys to my building/dorm/apartment/house (it all depends on what time of the year it is) and my vehicle keys. It is kind of hard for me to go anywhere without my keys, really. One, I would not be able to get back into my home, and two, I cannot start my vehicle without the key.

5. Notepad and pen

While it may be odd to some, I like to carry a small notepad and pen with me for one reason: to jot down ideas and thoughts that cross my mind. There is nothing worse than thinking about a superb topic to write on, a potential product I want to develop, or something I just want to get off my chest, and having no way to store that idea or thought for later use. By carrying a notepad and pen, I never have to worry about letting a thought or idea get away from me before I document it.

6. Eyeglasses 

As I wrote in my blog last week – which you can read here – I need to wear eyeglasses. Well, you better believe that I bring my Warby Parker eyeglasses with me wherever I go. Not only are they pretty freaking stylish and look nice on me, but they also help me actually see, which is, well, good too.

7. Saint Francis “Pray for Us” Necklace

When I was struggling with life my senior year of high school, my grandmother found a Saint Francis “Pray for Us” necklace that she said would protect me in my time of need. Well, over three and a half years later, I continue to wear this necklace every day because I know it has protected me for all these years. I refuse to go anywhere without this necklace; I consider it my lucky charm.

As you can tell, my items are not too extravagant; rather, they are the essentials I need to get through a typical day in my life. Sure, they will change as my life continues and as I come across new, useful items, but for now, I am pretty content with my everyday carry items. What items do you carry with you every day that you could not go without? Do you carry a large number of items or a select few like myself?

– Kyle Majerus

Leave a Reply

