I am a morning person. The morning is arguably the favorite time of my day for several reasons, like the beautiful sunrise, my toasty bed, the feeling of being well-rested, and the thought that my day is filled with endless possibilities. Like every other person in the world, I have a rather specific routine I follow each and every morning before I begin my day. My morning routine begins when my alarm goes off at 07:30. From there, I follow these next six steps.

  1. Scroll through my social media pages

    Yep, I am no different than every other millennial; right after I wake up, I grab my iPhone, load Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest, and Snapchat, and see what I missed while I was getting my beauty sleep. This will last about fifteen minutes, and then I will gather the strength to pull my bum out of bed at 07:45 to get food.

  2. Make my breakfast

    One of the greatest things ever invented was breakfast. There is nothing better than a delicious, nutritious bowl of oatmeal; a nice and ripe banana; and a cup of sweet nectar from the gods (black coffee). I love breakfast because it puts me in a fantastic mood, which will last throughout the rest of the day. It normally takes me about fifteen to twenty minutes to prepare and devour my breakfast, and then I shift my focus to my personal hygiene around 08:00.

  3. Shower

    There are two types of people in the world: those who shower in the morning and those who shower at night; I am the former. I think showering in the morning is much more worthwhile because I am able to truly wake my body and mind up. During this process, I (obviously) shower, brush and floss my teeth, clean my ears, comb my hair, and lotion my face. This is the longest part of my morning routine because I love to sit in the shower and just think. So, I put so much focus on what is going on in my head that I will stand in the shower for twenty to twenty-five minutes (getting out around 08:20 to 08:25) without even realizing it. Personally, thinking in the shower is the absolute best because I figure so much out about myself and what I want in life.

  4. Get dressed

    Probably the most important part of my morning routine is getting dressed. I don’t know about you, but I am a huge advocate of wearing clothes when I go out and about. Anyway, it honestly takes me a lot less time to get dressed than people would think. The main reason for this is because I have my clothes laid out the night before, so all I have to do is slip on my pants and shirt, put on my Apple Watch and my eyeglasses, and tie my sneakers. Two — maybe three — minutes, tops.

  5. Edit my blog

    Now that my hunger is satisfied, I smell pretty good, and I am fully clothed by 08:30ish, I direct my attention to my favorite past time: my blog. I post every Friday on my blog, so every morning for about twenty minutes, I will add content and edit the post I am currently working on. I do this because I want to wake my brain up and get my creative juices flowing before I head off to work. Also, I love to edit and polish my written works as much as I can prior to posting them.

  6. Head to work (Or on weekends I will watch an episode or two of Shameless!) 

    The final step to my morning routine varies based on the day. On weekdays, I will leave for work at 08:55 to be at work by 09:00. However, on weekends, I will stay in my room and watch, at the minimum, two episodes of Shameless. I have been hooked on Shameless the past few weeks and I need my morning laughs!

As you can read, my morning routine is structured and pretty lengthy. Some people’s morning routine may take ten minutes, others, an hour. My morning routine takes roughly an hour and a half because I hate to rush myself and get flustered so early in the morning. I simply feel that my morning routine should not only be productive but also enjoyable!

-Kyle Majerus

Leave a Reply

