Make Your Dreams a Reality

“Ten years from now, make sure you can say that you chose your life, you didn’t settle for it.” – Mandy Hale

So many people never reach their full potential in life and are never truly happy with themselves because they allow the fear of failure to hold them back from their dreams. People much rather prefer definitive outcomes and guaranteed safety over taking a leap of faith and trusting themselves. For these very reasons, they never achieve their dreams; instead, they settle for what they think they can obtain.

Now, I won’t lie; I have been the same way my whole life. I would settle for what made me content but not happy. I never attempted to make my dreams a reality because I have an intense fear of failure — also known as atychiphobia. However, as I began to grow as a person and recognized my strengths and weaknesses, I started rethinking what my life dreams are. They have always been “go to college, live in the Benton area, and get a job.” You know, something that would make me somewhat content — but not happy — with my life. Oh, have these dreams gotten bigger, scarier, and more difficult to achieve over the past two years.

At the beginning of May, I sat down with myself and asked, “Kyle, what do you truly want in life? Be honest with yourself. What will make you truly happy.” This simple act led to an epiphany in which I found more out about myself. My response: “To be 100% with you, Kyle, I want to make it in this world as a writer of some sort. I want to leave this place and never come back. I want to be true to myself and not settle for less than what I dream for.”

You may be asking yourselves what my dreams are, readers. Good thing for you all, I finally discovered what my dreams in life are, and I am more than happy to share. Enjoy my very specific life dreams: I dream of a Scandinavian-style apartment in downtown Chicago, a career as a copywriter (eventually becoming a Marketing Communications Director) in either a fashion or a coffee company, earning income from my blog, and finding someone whom I can share my life with.

Like I said, specific and ambitious dreams. Nevertheless, I am not intimidated by my dreams. Am I petrified by them? Absolutely. But, your dreams are not big enough if they don’t scare you. Remember that; your dreams should be so big that they terrify you. That is when you know they are worth the struggle. However, don’t let this fear stop you or threaten you; rather, take the challenges head on and overcome them.

Since I am not intimidated by my dreams, I am already striving to complete goals that will put me on the right path to fulfilling them (for those who know me: shocker, right?). Currently, I am working to graduate with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English Literature and a minor in business administration. In addition, I began an internship with Clarke University’s Marketing Department, in which I write copy, edit existing copy, and create marketing campaigns. Both the academics and experience will set me apart from others in copywriting and provide me with a competitive edge when entering the field.

Again, not surprising for those who know me, I have begun looking at various apartments in the Lincoln Park area so I may know what I can afford and what I want in an apartment. Additionally, I have been using my Pinterest to compile a list of furniture and designs to achieve the Scandinavian-style look. It is really coming along nicely, and I already have a loaded shopping list on Ikea.com!

Earning income from my blog will come in time. I first need to pay my dues, improve as a writer, and develop my personal brand. I only ever saw my blog as a hobby, but I am putting more time and dedication into it so I may further it into an opportunity for additional income. That is why I have really kicked it into gear and started to released one blog post a week, which is every Friday at 3:00 p.m. (or 15:00 for those like me who use the 24-hour clock). Although, starting this week, I am going to begin releasing two a week so I can write more and develop my writing skills.

Finally, in order for me to find my soul mate, I must first find myself and know who I truly am. I am dedicating the next year to solely me. I am going to improve myself physically, emotionally, and mentally. I have already made outstanding strides over the past few months, but I know I still have much more to discover about myself. I am not looking for love by all means, but when it finds me, I will allow it to re-enter my life.

So, the moral of this blog post is to not settle for less than what you want. Chase your dreams. Who cares if they are ridiculously big and damn near impossible to obtain? You can do it. Trust the process. If I can reach mine, you can reach yours. Don’t let the fear of failure stop your dreams from becoming a reality.

– Kyle Majerus

One thought on “Make Your Dreams a Reality

Leave a Reply

