I truly cannot convey how much I love going on coffee dates. It doesn’t matter if it is with a friend, a family member, an acquaintance, a significant other, or even the random man or woman I meet at the counter, coffee dates are a time of joy, inspiration, intriguing discussion, and delicious coffee.

I love going on coffee dates for two reasons. One, I get to enjoy a high-quality cup of Joe, and two, it allows me to talk about life with whomever I go with. I would consider myself somewhat of a coffee connoisseur and a coffee addict. Not ashamed of either if you want me to be completely honest. Coffee is fabulous. Anyway, when I go on coffee dates, it allows me to embark on a savory journey of trying new types of coffee. In fact, I had my first cup of black coffee and my first cold-brew coffee while on a coffee date. Now I am addicted to both. A pretty big part of the coffee date experience is enjoying the actual coffee, which I undoubtedly do.

Referring to the latter reason, when I write “to talk about life,” I mean having a deep heart-to-heart with the person whom I go with, in which we discuss our fears, inspirations, dreams, and ambitions. It is truly a chance to not only discover who the person I go with is but also who I am. I used to save my “coffee date where we talk about life” with someone very special to me, but now I have opened up to the opportunity of talking about life with others as well. In fact, three weeks ago, when I had my first acai bowl and cold-brew coffee, I had an intense talk about life with my buddy Colin. We discussed both our moves to Chicago, the English major and how fantastic it is, and the struggles we have been through recently. It was a thought-provoking conversation that allowed our bond to strengthen. Colin is a great guy, let me tell ya.

In all, coffee dates truly are a remarkable experience. Yeah, some may see it as a monotonous get-together with someone else, but it is much more than that. It is an experience in which you will grow as an individual, discover things about yourself, lament about the struggles you are facing, and enjoy some sweet nectar of the gods (or, “coffee” for those who don’t know me well). Now, go grab a friend, a family member, your significant other, or whomever you want to, and then go on a coffee date. Find a comforting little coffee shop (so, NOT Starbucks or Dunkin’ Donuts…), and talk about life. I promise you will find happiness from it, either from the conversations, the coffee, or both.

– Kyle Majerus

One thought on “Coffee Dates are a Key to Happiness

Leave a Reply

