The work week came to an end, the five-day Fourth of July weekend began, and the fun was waiting to happen. This past weekend was absolutely perfect; I went to my friend’s lake house for a few days and then to a Cubs game. It was times like this weekend that make me so thankful for the life that I live and will live in the future.

This was my most anticipated weekend of the year (besides when I visit my buddy Matt for a weekend in Chicago next month;-)…..). It began with a relaxing Friday by myself in which I wrote in my blog, played video games, and watched a few episodes of Girls (don’t even ask…). I wanted to spend a night by myself because I knew what fun but busy times were ahead.

The actual fun all began on Saturday. I woke up at the crack of dawn, got myself some cold-brew coffee with almond milk from Dunkin Donuts, and road tripped to my friend’s lake house in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. At the lake house, we drank craft beer, sat on the pier and gazed at the lake, boated, tanned, drank outstanding espresso, sat by the fire, and ate an abundant amount of food. Let’s just say, the four days we were at the lake was the same things over and over… but I sure am not complaining. I loved every second of it; this was, undoubtedly, the best time I have had all summer thus far. It truly made me appreciate the beauty of good company and nature. Ohh, and I was able to knock “spending a weekend on the lake” off of my summer bucket list!

IMG_2601

The lake life lasted until Wednesday morning (which still would have been the “weekend” for me), and then my friend Rachel and I packed our bags, made a stop at Dunkin Donuts for more cold-brew coffee, and road tripped down to Harvard, Illinois. From there, we met up with two of our best friends, Logan and Weatherly, and took the train* into Chicago to see the Cubs get a “W” and explore the city, more specifically Wrigleyville and Lincoln Park.

This was my first time seeing a game at Wrigley Field, and I had to have myself a $10 beer, copious amounts of popcorn, and all the seeds my jaw could handle… it is kind of a big thing for us baseball fans. Ohh! And yet another thing crossed off of my summer bucket list! I guess you could say that I am thriving. Anyway, in all, this day was perfect because I got to see a Cubs game and experience yet another part of Chicago with people whom I love dearly.

The weekend finally ended with a two-hour train ride from Chicago to Harvard, and then a two-hour car ride home. Even though it took us until 02:00 to get home and we were all deadbeat tired, we had some serious heart-to-hearts in the car, and the car ride was quite enjoyable in-and-of-itself. It was the perfect ending to a perfect weekend.

I will forever cherish this past weekend. It made me realize how blessed I truly am and what I want in this life, how I want to live my life, and how I plan on getting there.

*PSA: TELL THE TRAIN WORKER THAT YOU’RE A STUDENT, AND YOU WILL GET A STUDENT DISCOUNT ON YOUR TICKET. WHICH IS A RIDICULOUS AMOUNT OFF THE ORIGINAL PRICE.

-Kyle Majerus

 

Leave a Reply

