Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things

For those of you who don’t know, minimalism is a lifestyle in which a person chooses to live with the most basic of things, e.g., clothing, furniture, and possessions, but gets the most bang for his or her buck. For example, minimalist prefer quality over quantity, so he or she may purchase a high-end winter coat that will last him or her for years instead of four to five cheaper coats that will only last a few months.

Now, I would consider myself a minimalist in terms of clothing; I only wear five shirts and sweaters, four pairs of pants, and three pairs of shoes. Instead of owning a ridiculous amount of clothing that I will never wear, I just purchase high-quality pieces of clothing that I cycle throughout the year and create various combinations. And you know what, people rarely notice. They do not notice that I just wear the same thing in a different variation. This is what minimalism is about. Creating the most out of the basic items. The absolute best pieces to get to create a minimalist wardrobe are chinos in navy, gray, and black; sweaters in black and navy; white button-downs; and white sneakers. You do not realize the creations you can make, everyone.

Some of you may be wondering what got me into the minimalist lifestyle, and I would say a huge inspiration would be a documentary called Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things. It follows around and interviews a variety of minimalists who gave up their Wall Street-like, materialistic lifestyle and adopted a minimalist one. It is quite moving honestly. I urge you all to check it out on Netflix because, who knows, you may find a desire to give up the lifestyle you live for a more minimal one.

When I watched it for the first time during my freshman year of college, I ended up throwing away three containers of junk from my room and another two containers of clothing. I realized how much space I was wasting and what little value these items were. It felt absolutely freeing to do.

After watching this documentary for the second time this past weekend, I actually ended up clearing out my apartment closet and room of unnecessary clothing and items that I do not need or never use. It allowed me to declutter my life in various ways and focus on what is important: myself. Now that I do not have so much junk to distract me, I can work on myself, discover who I am, and fix the issues in my life. The documentary does a great job of conveying that minimalism is not an image that hipsters adopt; rather, it is a lifestyle that allows a person to stop focusing on what doesn’t matter, i.e., materialistic items, and start focusing on what really should matter — people, experiences, and oneself.

Let me know if any of you give it a watch, and also let me know if it inspires you to become a minimalist!

– Kyle Majerus

Featured Image: https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/minimalism_a_documentary_about_the_important_things/

 

 

One thought on “Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things

Leave a Reply

