As this blog goes live, I am in Chicago for a three-day weekend to visit my buddy, Matt, and work on content for my internship. It will be quite an active and fun-filled weekend; I am exploring downtown, finally trying the pizza pot pie I’ve wanted for over a year, shopping (of course), enjoying one too many beverages, and taking many photos around the city. It is important to pack accordingly for such a busy weekend getaway because you don’t want too many or too few items. When going away for a weekend, only pack the essentials for the trip. It will save you a lot of space in your bag and energy to keep track of everything. Below I give you the top items one should bring on a short or long weekend trip.

  1. Two pairs of chinos

    Everyone should bring a pair or two of chinos because they are such a diverse piece of clothing; they are lightweight pants that are designed to be worn in all seasons, and they can be dressed up for a fancy dinner or dressed down for a night at the club or exploring the city. They are just that stinking diverse, everyone!!

    Especially since it is summer, I will advocate for chinos over jeans on a weekend trip because you can wear them even if it is boiling hot outside or extra windy and cool. Since I will be in the Windy City at the beginning of August, I do not know what to expect. Will it be stupidly hot or rather breezy? I have no idea, so I packed both my navy and gray J.Crew chinos. It can be pretty warm outside or a bit windy, and I will be dressed accordingly either way.

  2. One long-sleeve t-shirt

    You can NEVER go wrong with a white long-sleeve t-shirt. They are aesthetically pleasing, minimal, and fashionable. Just like with the chinos, you can wear this shirt in any weather and for many occasions. Is it chilly outside? Perfect, this shirt is long-sleeved. But, is the sun beating down, too? Excellent. This shirt is white so the sun will not be attracted to it. Without a doubt, I packed my J.Crew white long-sleeve t-shirt to wear downtown one of the days.

  3. A belt

    One of my biggest pet peeves is people not wearing a damn belt. They have two important uses: one, they hold up your pants/jeans/shorts, which, you know, is crazy important and convenient. And, two, they are the perfect accessory to finish a look or give your outfit some extra color. Personally, I am a huge fan of light brown belts, and I definitely will be wearing my favorite belt all weekend.

  4. Basketball shorts

    Instead of wearing pajama pants to bed and waking up sweating like crazy, I advise bringing a pair of comfy and breathable basketball shorts to sleep in. Also, you never know when you’re going to the gym, so why not have them just in case? (Sorry, I am a “gym rat” who sure doesn’t look like it…)

  5. Underwear and socks

    Kinda obvious…

  6. Comfortable shoes

    If you know you will be moving about or walking a lot, please, please, please bring a sturdy and comfortable pair of shoes/boots. Do your feet and yourself a favor and make sure you pack shoes/boots that won’t destroy your feet or back. For this trip, I decided to bring my Aldo brown dress boots that have high-quality Dr. Scholl’s in soles inside them. They are soooo comfortable and great for walking (surprisingly!).

    Seriously, I cannot convey how important good walking shoes are. Take it from someone with a fused tailbone from an injury whose ribs pop out of place and hips and ankles get out of alignment. Wearing shoes that support your back and feet are a life saver.

  7. Grooming/Bathroom essentials

    It is necessary to take care of your personal hygiene at all times. Whether you are home, on vacation, or just away for the weekend, bring what you need for proper grooming and hygiene. For this weekend away, I brought body wash, my beard oil, a comb and a brush, deodorant, my toothbrush and toothpaste, Q-tips, lotion, floss, and my beard trimmer. You know, the essentials. I take my personal grooming and hygiene very seriously…

  8. Your Everyday Carry Items

    These will be the items you cannot go a day or even an hour without. You can read about my ECI and what I brought with me to the city here.

  9. Sturdy Backpack

    While some people prefer actual luggage bags, I fancy a comfortable and high-quality backpack. I like backpacks over luggage bags for several reasons. One, it doesn’t feel like you actually have to carry it; rather, you can sling it over your shoulders and go about your day. Two, they are smaller than luggage bags, so you do not risk over-packing for a trip. Instead, you bring what you know you need and will use. Again, less is more! Three, they are pretty dang fashionable. Rocking a fashion backpack will never go out of style. You all already know that I brought everything in my JuneHouse Rose Red Backpack.

    This backpack is amazing. It is very fashionable, high-quality, super comfortable, and goes great with my style. I love to rock very minimal and three-color outfits. So, the pop of rose red from this backpack gives my looks the perfect touch. Just look at how great the combination below works. (Review coming next week.)

    IMG_2668

There you have it, folks. What I advise you should bring on a nice weekend trip. Just remember to pack the essentials because you don’t want to have an abundant amount of clothing, shoes, or items wasting space in your backpack/luggage. Also, you want to leave space in your backpack/luggage in case you buy something and need to store it! And, the Lord knows I will come back with quite a few things and will need the space…

– Kyle Majerus

Leave a Reply

